Artist: Niilo Smeds
Title: Once You Were A Baby

Format: 12" Black Vinyl
Run: 500
Design: Niilo Smeds
Release Date: March 24, 2017
Price: $17.99


Once You Were a Baby is the new album from Niilo Smeds, available on vinyl and digital from Gold Robot Records. The 13-song collection moves from post-Willie pseudo-country to synth-drenched ghost stories to instrumental introspections. The record is anchored by Niilo’s fingerstyle guitar, tape-echoed vocals and evocative lyrics.

The songs were mostly self-recorded with a minimal setup at home in Portland, Ore., where he moved in 2014 after spending time in Fresno, San Francisco and Oakland. Greer McGettrick composed and recorded cello arrangements and Russell Higbee played Prelude synthesizer and YC-20 organ. Niilo played guitars, bass, Alpha Juno and MPC2000XL. Niilo mixed the record at home and Timothy Stollenwerk mastered it at Stereophonic in Portland.


01. Niilo Smeds - Marker of Days
02. Niilo Smeds - Phlox
03. Niilo Smeds - There Goes Your Woman
04. Niilo Smeds - Land of Bad Memories
05. Niilo Smeds - Betula
06. Niilo Smeds - Fun Things
07. Niilo Smeds - Mercilessly
08. Niilo Smeds - Your Brand
09. Niilo Smeds - Unknown Animal
10. Niilo Smeds - Chimera
11. Niilo Smeds - Wrong Elixir
12. Niilo Smeds - Show Some Respect
13. Niilo Smeds - Toward a More Thorough Rejection



coming soon


coming soon